a question about programming in DVD lab Pro's LABtalk...

DVD-lab, DVD-lab Studio and DLP2

a question about programming in DVD lab Pro's LABtalk...

Postby rlowe » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:06 pm

I have a question about DVD lab Pro's LABtalk.

I'm a somewhat newbie to authoring. I've used Encore before but never a program as rich as DVD lab Pro.

I'm using the 30 day trial because I need to do some custom scripting. Now in looking through the "Help guide" I saw that the it can use a variance of the BASIC language through the LABtalk feature. I'd like to know several things:

1- Is it stable?
2- How complex can my programming be?
3- Will programs written with LABtalk work on a set top DVD player?
4- If Yes to 1 & 3, are there any in depth step-by-step tutorials to work with?

Let me give you an idea of what I'm trying to do.

---------------------------------------------
Imagine you work for a grocery chain and they give you a DVD with training videos.
You pop in the dvd and are presented with a the following menu which allows you to
create a playlist of only the videos that you want to see:

1- Meats
_ Beef _Pork _Chicken _None

2- Fruits
_Apples _Oranges _Pears _None

3- Vegetables
_ Tomatoes _Lettuce _ Onions _ None

-- Generate & Play videos --

In each of the section you select one subject or none
and they at the end of your selection the system will
generate a playlist that will play only the subjects you
selected.

1- Meats
X Beef _Pork _Chicken _None

2- Fruits
_Apples _Oranges _Pears
XNone

3- Vegetables
_ Tomatoes
XLettuce _ Onions _ None

-- Generate & Play videos --

Playlist = {Beef movie + Lettuce movie}

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Can something like this function in a regular DVD player?

If so, can someone help me out with the programming or at least point me in the right direction?
rlowe

Re: a question about programming in DVD lab Pro's LABtalk...

Postby Vapymid » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:28 am