Paint Thickness Map

Discussion about Mediachance DAP

Paint Thickness Map

Postby expressivecanvas » Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:23 pm

Hi Everyone!

I am relatively new to using DAP but have quickly realized the artistic and creative potential of this program. I have a question (most likely my first of many) about the menu item "Save Paint Thickness map..." My first thought was that I could use this thickness map in PSP as a layer and it would add some 'depth' to the paint. However, I have not been able to figure out how to use these "thickness maps" and am now wondering if it is used for something completely different than I had originally suspected.

Could someone please enlighten me about the use of this feature? Thanks in advance! : )

Patrick
expressivecanvas

Re: Paint Thickness Map

Postby Rocambole » Thu Feb 10, 2011 3:20 pm

Hi and welcome to our community!

There is a paint thickness turorial in Mary Warner's collection of DAP Tips and Tricks:
http://www.mmbforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=53
Rocambole

Postby expressivecanvas » Thu Feb 10, 2011 4:00 pm

Thanks! I will have to check that out and see how it works. Thanks again!

Patrick : )
expressivecanvas

Postby Gene_mtl » Thu Feb 10, 2011 4:22 pm

Hi Patrick.

I also use PSP. I've not been able to achieve any decent results following the Tutorial on using the Paint thickness map. If you do, please share what it was you did.

Saying that, I have been able to add brushstroke textures in PSP. My version of PSP is v9. But this should work in any more recent version.

- Duplicate background layer (The DAP image)
- Effects --> Textue effects --> Emboss**.
- Set blend mode to 'Hardlight'

Sometimes the effect is more effective if you invert the embossed layer. To do so is: Adjust --> Color balance--> Negative image.

Also there will be times when you want some sections of the embossed layer reversed from the rest. Simply select that area and do the Adjust --> color balance --> negative image.