Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

DVD-lab, DVD-lab Studio and DLP2

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby Vapymid » Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:51 pm

I'll probably add the ability to convert suitable FLV, MP4 and WEBM video files to MPEG-2 Elementary Streams


It would be nice if it could handle AVCHD, there is a total dearth of good software for those things which are being used by HD camcorders today...

I see that Edit Studio no longer supports MPEG-2 encoding; has anyone suggested to Oscar to use Ffmpeg to do this?


I don't know, but I think Oscar is concentrating on his graphics programs and the video stuff is parked for now.

Regards
Vapymid
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:38 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby Markham » Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:48 am

Vapymid wrote:
I'll probably add the ability to convert suitable FLV, MP4 and WEBM video files to MPEG-2 Elementary Streams


It would be nice if it could handle AVCHD, there is a total dearth of good software for those things which are being used by HD camcorders today...

From my (limited) research, it appears that consumer HD camcorders come in 3 flavours: 720p, 1080i and 1080p and, for DVD use, a 1080i asset needs to be deinterlaced. But what I'm not clear about is can DVD-lab handle those frame sizes - ie 1280 x 720 and 1920 x 1080 - or do I need to rescale to meet the DVD standards for PAL and NTSC?

AVCHD is simply uses a MPEG Transport Stream container so it should be reasonably uncomplicated to convert. May take a bit of time though if demuxing is also required.

Mark
Markham
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Davao, Philippines

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby Oscar » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:09 am

Hi Markham
Interesting to hear you moved to asia. How is the life over there?
It would be good if we can somehow wrap the proex to a package and uploading here as the definitive version.

As for ES, yes ffmpeg was my first fallback of course, but the truth is there is very little interest in video editors these days... especially ones that were rather tailored to SD not HD.
The mpeg2 dlls are no longer distributed with ES because my license with mainconcept expired and it didn't make sense to renew it (it cost me $50 to wire transfer royalty of few bucks to MC and then the next $50 for few bucks to MPEGLA ) and as it were I was spending more money on the royalties than I earned from ES.
I am also not too familiar with ffmpeg workings yet, maybe you could actually give me some pointers about that.

You can also post your YT downloader here, I am sure people would find use for it.
Oscar
Site Admin
 
Posts: 863
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:54 am

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby Ian Bell » Sun Apr 13, 2014 7:51 pm

:) I suppose I'm jumping the gun thinking that I can use ES6 & DVD Lab Pro with my new Canon Legria video camera with AVCHD if these changes/suggestions are made?

Would sure be great if I could still continue to use ES6. :) I've been toying with installing Blu Ray writer combo and other video software :oops: to edit videos. (See my post in other MMB apps).
Ian Bell
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:47 pm
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby Vapymid » Mon Apr 14, 2014 8:31 am

Markham wrote:a 1080i asset needs to be deinterlaced. ........ But what I'm not clear about is can DVD-lab handle those frame sizes - ie 1280 x 720 and 1920 x 1080 - or do I need to rescale to meet the DVD standards for PAL and NTSC?


I am pretty certain that DVDLab can't handle these sizes and that, yes, they will have to be rescaled.

On the 1080i though - if, instead of deinterlacing first, the rescaling were to be applied to each field individually, the result would both meet the DVD standards AND retain the interlacing (i.e. preserve the best quality) of the original...

Regards
Vapymid
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:38 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby Markham » Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:10 am

Oscar wrote:Hi Markham
Interesting to hear you moved to asia. How is the life over there?

Hi Oscar, long time no speak!

I moved to the Philippines in 2007 and met and married a local girl. We now live in Davao City with our two young sons (a 3 year old and a 3 month old) in the far south of the country, well away from the typhoon belt, and I have to say life is grand! As we're about 7 degrees north of the Equator, it's mid-summer right now (there's another mid-summer in 6 months time) and it's stinkily hot - 40 degrees![/quote]

It would be good if we can somehow wrap the proex to a package and uploading here as the definitive version.

I see you've withdrawn it from the download area. What were the issues, if you can remember, because as far as I can tell, it should support Windows 7 without any problem: there's no XP-specific code it it.

As for ES, yes ffmpeg was my first fallback of course, but the truth is there is very little interest in video editors these days... especially ones that were rather tailored to SD not HD.
The mpeg2 dlls are no longer distributed with ES because my license with mainconcept expired and it didn't make sense to renew it (it cost me $50 to wire transfer royalty of few bucks to MC and then the next $50 for few bucks to MPEGLA ) and as it were I was spending more money on the royalties than I earned from ES.
I am also not too familiar with ffmpeg workings yet, maybe you could actually give me some pointers about that.

I'm happy to do that in email. Are your email addresses that end with "gers.com" still valid? If not, please PM me.

You can also post your YT downloader here, I am sure people would find use for it.

I'll email a copy of the installer (about 600 KB) so that you can play with it first. I'm happy to brand it for you - no charge :)

Mark.
Markham
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Davao, Philippines

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby Markham » Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:16 am

Vapymid wrote:
Markham wrote:a 1080i asset needs to be deinterlaced. ........ But what I'm not clear about is can DVD-lab handle those frame sizes - ie 1280 x 720 and 1920 x 1080 - or do I need to rescale to meet the DVD standards for PAL and NTSC?


I am pretty certain that DVDLab can't handle these sizes and that, yes, they will have to be rescaled.

On the 1080i though - if, instead of deinterlacing first, the rescaling were to be applied to each field individually, the result would both meet the DVD standards AND retain the interlacing (i.e. preserve the best quality) of the original...

Regards

Thank you, that makes my life much easier!

YouTube carries a large number of HD videos - though they're often not the default shown - and they're mostly 1080p. These downscale very nicely with no discernible artifacts - even using a single-pass transcode - and with a good, crisp audio track (AC3). Deinterlacing during conversion is entirely optional.
Markham
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Davao, Philippines

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby NFAtoys » Mon May 05, 2014 11:47 am

Hi, Markham!

It's been awhile since I authored my last DVD, so it was a pleasant surprise to so your name show up here in the forum. I have a question. Years ago I remember using ProEx along with DLP2. But in the interim, I've had a couple HDD crashes. I've managed to restore my PC and get my activation codes for all my Mediachance programs, but I can't find the original install file for ProEx.

Clicking on the ProEx link on the DLP toolbar takes me to a web site that says my version of Windows ( Win7 Pro ) is not compatible with ProEx. Is this true? And if it isn't, where can I download a replacement copy of ProEx to fully restore my DLP setup?

Gary James
NFAtoys
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:29 am
Location: Cleveland Ohio area

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby tinker » Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:46 pm

Hi NFAtoys
I have Win7 Pro 64 bit. Pro Extension works, but only version 331, others have a problem with 64 bit system.
tinker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:01 am

Re: Pro Extensions? Valid for DVDLabPro2?

Postby neilwilkes » Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:45 am

Hi Markham - it's been a while, hasn't it!
Great to know you are still around & active and having a great life in the Phillipines - sounds like a great place to be.

Currently running DVD-Lab Pro on Windows 7, and no ProEx so if it were to be made available on that OS I would happily pay for it again. It's too useful not to.
http://www.opusproductions.com
http://www.so-audio.com
high resolution and surround sound specialists
neilwilkes
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:50 pm
Location: London, England

Previous

Return to DVD-lab Authoring

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests