Dual Layer troubles

DVD-lab, DVD-lab Studio and DLP2
Post Reply
Murdoc
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:05 pm

Dual Layer troubles

Post by Murdoc »

Hey all. New username, I guess since it's been so long since I visited my account is gone... :?:

Anyway, for many years an off-and-on user of LAB, had a small side biz in graphics then life change so it's only the occasional project for gratis these days. Upgraded to Pro 2.5 when it came out. I'm familiar with lab, but not super in depth.... ok, on to my question/problem......

Working on a DL project (large enough to require it) and having problems with the disc's playability. It's like a gremlin, each disc seems to choke in a different spot... a menu that completely hangs, a movie that starts, freezes then jumps to next chapter point, or a disc that won't read at all. I've made numerous, numerous projects with LAB, burned with same Plex burner, tested them all in my pioneer player. In general very high success rate. Nothings changed but now I can not output a decent disc. At first I thought maybe a problem in the compile or project. I rechecked and recompiled my project so many times I can't count. I can find no problems and the compile log shows no errors. I've burned mostly with my ol' Nero 6.6 (too cheap to pay Nero more $) and never had problem (on single layer that is). I've burned once with LAB's built-in.. which was probably my best test but still malf'd here and there. I tried ImgBurn today to no avail. I've tried about 3 different media and also tried burning with a Lite-On... each one is slightly different but none work right. Strange thing is these discs all player in a PC using software player, so it seems there is not an out-of-spec issue or fatal error.... but rather readability? Perhaps DL related? I've also adjusted the layer change, had no effect on this problem.

Any ides or suggestions? Thanks guys, much appreciated! :D

antonsvideo
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:37 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Dual Layer troubles

Post by antonsvideo »

1. Use Verbatim DVD+R DL

2. be sure you have a suitable chapter point in the indicated layer break area

3. do not set layer break in DLP

4. burn with ImgBurn (free) and set the layer break
http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1780

the result will work guaranteed, I am sending lots to replicators, never a problem
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney
http://www.videoproductions.com.au

Murdoc
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:05 pm

Re: Dual Layer troubles

Post by Murdoc »

Hey thanks. Familiar "face" :)

Verbatim has always been my preferred and most successful... ran out recently, of course.

Very informative link, thanks. Good tip on layer break.

Question for you, if you come back to read this: what do you think are the odds the burner could be a problem?

Thanks for the help ;)

DVDdoug
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 6:18 pm

Re: Dual Layer troubles

Post by DVDdoug »

Dual-layer discs have given me more trouble than single-layer discs. I'd guess about 20% of my dual-layer burns have been bad. I try to avoid them if possible. I can't remember the brand I have now, but I've had batches with higher failure rates. Also, some DVD players have trouble with burned dual-layer discs.

A slower burn speed may help. Someone once looked at discs with an electron microscope and the discs burned at slower speeds had sharper "pits". But, I'm sure it depends on the burner too.
what do you think are the odds the burner could be a problem?
There's only one way to know for sure... Try a different burner.

BTW - I check all of my burns with Nero DiscSpeed (FREE!!!). It draws a graph of read-speed, and you'll see a glitch in the graph if it gets a read-error and tries to re-read, etc. It's a lot faster & easier than watching the whole program! ImgBurn has a similar feature, but DiscSpeed is my habit.

Murdoc
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:05 pm

Re: Dual Layer troubles

Post by Murdoc »

Likewise for me. This project is large enough that in order to fit on a single I would have to compress all the AV assets to an unacceptably low quality.
I have often identified speed as a potential problem as well in the past, so sometimes I'll burn at half max, just to see if the playability more consistent - which it often is.
As stated in my first post, already tried my other burner and that disc also malf'd in the player... but this was a different machine and OS.. too many variables to be sure what caused what. The Plextor I primarily use has been great, but they do wear out.. so I've heard.

In any case, just got done a new test burn, found a old extra verbatim 2.4x +R-DL, set layer break & burned with ImgBurn.... seems to be working! Perhaps some name brand DL media is just not video friendly. Once again, my faith in verbatim is confirmed and as usual... the devil is in the little details.

Thanks for the tips and help guys. :)

antonsvideo
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:37 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Dual Layer troubles

Post by antonsvideo »

never had trouble with DL burns since using ImgBurn with proper layerbreak

I use Pioneer Burners and I always make sure the firmware is up to date
http://www.firmwarehq.com/
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney
http://www.videoproductions.com.au

neilwilkes
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:50 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: Dual Layer troubles

Post by neilwilkes »

DL Burns never an issue for me either, again with Verbatim DVD+R DL media & Pioneer burner.
Never, ever set Layer Break in DLP.
http://www.opusproductions.com
http://www.so-audio.com
high resolution and surround sound specialists

antonsvideo
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:37 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Dual Layer troubles

Post by antonsvideo »

neilwilkes wrote:DL Burns never an issue for me either, again with Verbatim DVD+R DL media & Pioneer burner.
Never, ever set Layer Break in DLP.

correct, I set the layer break in ImgBurn
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney
http://www.videoproductions.com.au

Post Reply