Menu Cells via LabTalk?

DVD-lab, DVD-lab Studio and DLP2
Post Reply
videonut
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:37 pm

Menu Cells via LabTalk?

Post by videonut »

I'm working on a LabTalk script that manipulates objects on a couple of menus in a component. Each of these menus have two cells. There are 5 objects in cell 1, and 14 in cell 2. At the very beginning of the script, I need the ability to change the position (add 120 to the x position) of each of those objects so as to center the whole combination within the menu frame in the event that the component is dropped onto a 16:9 VTS - its native format is 4:3.

The only thing DLP2 does automatically is resize the menu frame, which leaves all my objects offset to the left. They're in the proper place relative to each other, but not to the background.

I can detect the VTS A/R simply enough, but I can't find any way to reference or address the individual menu cells in order to perform operations on the various objects. For example, running a test script with ObjectGetCount(menusInBlackBox[1]) will return either 5 or 14 depending on which cell happened to be the most recently activated in the DLP UI.

I know I could just make two components, but that leaves the problem of the whole rest of the script that still needs to perform linking operations to the objects in those two cells depending on user input.

So, how can menu cells be addressed in script? I found nothing in the docs, nor in this forum.

Thanks
My scripts use no politically-correct language,
and my components contain no Chinese parts.

Vapymid
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:38 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Menu Cells via LabTalk?

Post by Vapymid »

Unfortunately, I don't think that LabTalk extends to menu cells.

Regards

videonut
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:37 pm

Re: Menu Cells via LabTalk?

Post by videonut »

Vapymid wrote:Unfortunately, I don't think that LabTalk extends to menu cells.
I didn't think so either. If it does, it's not documented. I was just hoping someone had found a workaround, or something.

I'm really disappointed in LAB-talk. It has about half the features, flexibility, and scope of the mid-80's Commodore-64 BASIC, not to mention the atrocious documentation.

Thanks for the reply
My scripts use no politically-correct language,
and my components contain no Chinese parts.

Post Reply